Introduction

12841336_10207490226845749_8552560278261582221_o

Welcome to my blog!

My name is Gleann Ignacio. It’s pronounced glee-ann. I was born and raised in Houston, TX and am the oldest of three siblings. I’m 100% Filipino. My parents migrated from the Philippines to the United States in the 80’s. My brothers and I were brought up with strong Filipino beliefs and take a lot of pride in our heritage and where we come from. I’m currently 23 years old and attending the University of Houston, where I’m studying towards a degree in Communications. My major is in Broadcast Journalism with a minor in Computer Graphics Technology.

12829292_10207490224485690_1217819267387265368_o

In 2010, I co-created and serve as the leading multimedia journalist for the online music publication Fuel The Media. Most of my work can be found on my photo blog, Facebook Page and Flickr account. I’ve contributed to a number of online publications throughout the years including Local Wolves Magazine, The Party Scene Press and Stitched Sound. I also blog and am one of the co-web editors for the student-run radio station CoogRadio at UH. I feel confident in my journalistic work and abilities in music and I’d like to not only transfer my knowledge in that field but continue to learn and apply new aspects and skills into the world of sports entertainment.

15401104_10209791009443876_4438970492623245370_n

A couple of interesting things about myself are that I’m a horror enthusiast, who loves to travel, attend comic conventions and cosplay as some of my favorite characters. My favorite sports include professional basketball and wrestling. I also host my own podcast via CoogRadio called Scheduled For 1 Fall, where it’s all about the wrestling industry with an integration of pop culture.

In addition to being a college student, I work part-time and participate in an internship in the programming and social media departments within ESPN 97.5 FM Houston sports radio.

I consider myself to be an open-minded and social person. If someone is willing to make the effort to be my friend then I will too.

Feel free to follow me on social media:

icon-twitter instagram-logo facebook-logo youtube_icon_block tumblr-logo flickr_logo-500x500 linkedin-logo-02

This semester I look forward to getting to know my fellow classmates and learning from an established multimedia journalist such as Professor Saatsaz.

Leave a Reply

